Power Holding Company of Nigeria

Electricity distribution company of Nigeria
This article uses bare URLs, which are uninformative and vulnerable to link rot. Please consider converting them to full citations to ensure the article remains verifiable and maintains a consistent citation style. Several templates and tools are available to assist in formatting, such as reFill (documentation) and Citation bot (documentation). (September 2022) (Learn how and when to remove this template message)
This article needs additional citations for verification. Please help improve this article by adding citations to reliable sources. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed.
Find sources: \"Power Holding Company of Nigeria\" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR (March 2013) (Learn how and when to remove this template message)

The Power Holding Company of Nigeria (PHCN), formerly the National Electric Power Authority (NEPA), is an organisation governing the use of electricity in Nigeria. During the era when it operated as NEPA, the company managed a football team, NEPA Lagos
. It represents Nigeria in the West African Power Pool.

The history of electricity development in Nigeria can be traced back to the end of the 19th century when the first generating power plant was installed in the city of Lagos in 1898. From then until 1950, the pattern of electricity development was in the form of individual electricity power undertaking scattered all over the towns. Some of the few undertaking were Federal Government bodies under the Public Works Department, some by the Native Authorities and others by the Municipal Authorities.

Kaduna Electric Corporate Head Office

PHCN successor companies

Following the 2013 divestiture of the federal government from PHCN, the company was divided into separate companies or entities called Local Electric Distribution Companies or Local Distribution Companies (LDC). Each company will be responsible for handling electricity distribution in each state or region.

As of May 2016, the structure of the companies was as follows:

BEDC workers in Nigeria (2017).

Distribution (11 companies):

Abuja Electricity Distribution Company plc
Benin Electricity Distribution Company plc
Eko Electricity Distribution Company plc
Enugu Electricity Distribution Company plc
Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company plc
Ikeja Electricity Distribution Company plc
Jos Electricity Distribution Company plc
Kano Electricity Distribution Company plc
Kaduna Electricity Distribution Company plc
Port Harcourt Electricity Distribution Company plc
Yola Electricity Distribution Company plc

Generation (6 companies):

Afam Power plc
Egbin Power plc
Kainji Hydro-Electric plc
Sapele Power plc
Shiroro Hydro-Electric plc
Ughelli Power plc

Transmission (1 company):

Transmission Company of Nigeria


Leave a Reply